NPL Review: McBreen retires a champion as Edgeworth clinch title

Daniel McBreen is going out a champion after an inspired performance from Daniel Fabrizio won Edgeworth Eagles FC the NPL NNSW Grand Final on Sunday afternoon.

Fabrizio struck twice in Edgeworth’s 2-0 win over Maitland FC; his first from the goal line and his second a long distance stunner which sunk Maitland hearts and ensured McBreen ended his long playing career on a high.

Read on for a wrap of all the Grand Final action!

SCHEDULE: National Premier Leagues 2019 Finals Series fixtures confirmed

Feature image: Max Mason-Hubers

Victoria: Bentleigh storm home

Bentleigh Greens have charged from their fifth-place finish in the regular season to defeat Avondale in the NPL Victoria Grand Final.

A first half goal from Yufus Ahmed put Avondale in front but Bentleigh clawed their way back through defender Jack Webster with half an hour to play.

The game was destined for a shootout which Bentleigh went on to win 4-3 after Avondale’s fifth penalty was saved by Ryan Scott.

South Australia: Campbelltown City clinch NPL SA crown

They won the Premiership by a comfortable five points and their run to the Championship was no different, with a 3-0 win over Adelaide Comets sealing Campbelltown’s second successive NPLSA title.

A hat-trick from Marc Marino separated the two sides in what was a dominant display from the Premiers.

Queensland: 10-man Knights lift NPL QLD title

They were reduced to 10-men before half time, but that didn’t stop Gold Coast Knights defeating Olympic FC 2-1 in the NPL QLD Grand Final on Sunday afternoon.

One goal in either half from the Knights proved an insurmountable lead which Olympic cut into late in the game, but couldn’t find the equaliser, ensuring Gold Coast won the NPL QLD title in their first season in the league.

Western Australia: Perth SC claim the double

Perth SC have claimed an NPL WA Grand Final victory over Inglewood United after losing the Major Semi Final to the same team a week before.

It seemed Inglewood were on track for another victory over the NPL WA Premiers when captain David Cyrus headed the hosts in front, but a comeback sparked by Golden Boot winner Michael Domfeh was capped off by a 90th-minute winner by Perth right-back Alex Silla, sealing a league and cup double for Perth SC.

ACT: Gunghalin romp to NPL ACT title

Gunghalin United are NPL ACT Champions for the first time since 2001 after defeating Tigers FC 5-0 in the Grand Final.

The match hinged on a red card to Tigers goalkeeper Jakob Cole in the first half.

Trailing 1-0 when their custodian was sent to the stands, Cooma went on to concede four more goals as Gunghalin cruised to the final whistle to be crowned NPL ACT Champions.