NPL Final Series Preview: Heidelberg FC v Perth SC

It’s Western Australia’s most lethal attack against Victoria’s most stringent defence when Heidelberg FC host Perth SC in an Elimination Final clash in the NPL Finals Series this Sunday afternoon.

Perth SC head to Melbourne this weekend boasting lethal attacking weapon in former Perth Glory striker Michael Domfeh, who won the NPL WA Golden Boot with 16 goals this season.

The 20-year-old scored his 16th goal of the season in Perth’s Grand Final victory over Inglewood last weekend, inspiring his side to the comeback which earned them the NPL WA Championship.

But as he looks to add more goals to his tally on the domestic stage, Domfeh will be up against a steadfast Heidelberg defence, who conceded only 28 goals in 26 NPL VIC games this season - the least in the league.

It’s a tantalising matchup which will test the balance between ruthless attack and resolute defence, and it’s all going down at JL Murphy Reserve this Sunday afternoon (4:30PM AEST).

SCHEDULE: National Premier Leagues 2019 Finals Series fixtures confirmed

How they got to NPL Finals Series

Heidelberg FC climbed atop the NPL VIC table in dramatic circumstances this season, finishing two points above Avondale FC on 55 points to clinch the Premiership and a berth in the 2019 NPL Finals Series.

With two games to play, Heidelberg trailed Avondale by one point, but a blockbuster matchup between the two sides in the penultimate round of the season gave Heidelberg the chance to overtake the league leaders.

The Warriors seized that chance with a 3-2 victory on Avondale soil to forge a two-point gap between the sides, which they then carried to the end of the season.

On the other side of the country, however, it was smooth sailing for Perth SC, who cruised to the NPL WA Premiership, finishing the campaign nine points clear of Inglewood United.

To go along with their points tally of 49, their imperious goal difference of +32 was the best in the league by far, doubling the next best goal difference of +16 produced fifth placed Bayswater City.

It was a season of dominance for Perth, which continued into the NPL WA Finals campaign. Perth won thanks to a come from behind 2-1 Grand Final victory against Inglewood United.

Unlike Perth SC, Heidelberg’s ambitions to pull off a similar League/Cup double were cut short in the NPL VIC Finals campaign when they came up against Bentleigh Greens in the Cup Semi-Final.

At home to Bentleigh, who finished fifth on the table and 12 points behind the Premiers, Heidelberg lost 2-1, which ended their hopes of a Championship and gave Bentleigh a chance at glory that they capitalised upon, defeating Avondale in a dramatic penalty shootout in the NPL Victoria Grand Final.

Past ventures in the NPL Finals Series

Perth SC are no strangers to the NPL Finals Series.

In 2016, Perth crushed NPL Tasmania side Devonport City FC 6-1 before falling to NPL Northern NSW’s Edgeworth FC 1-0 in the Semi Finals.

Perth returned to the post-season Cup in 2018 but fell at the first hurdle against NPL NSW side Sydney Olympic 1-0.

Heidelberg FC, however, are previous winners of the Cup, taking out the 2017 NPL Finals Series by defeating NPL WA’s Bayswater City 3-1, NPL NSW side APIA Leichhardt FC 2-1, and ultimately NPL Queensland’s Brisbane Strikers 2-0 in the Grand Final.

Who wins and why

On Sunday afternoon the two very different paths travelled by the NPL WA and NPL VIC Premiers will converge in an NPL Finals Series Elimination Final.

Despite being the travelling side, Perth SC head to Melbourne with a head full of steam in  a bid to consolidate Heidelberg FC’s post-season woes and progress to the Semi Finals to continue their quest for their third major title of the season.

But in the battle between two state Premiers, it will all come down to who performs best on the day, and with so much at stake for both sides we’re set for an unforgettable afternoon of high octane action.

Every match in the  NPL 2019 Finals Series will be streamed LIVE on as well as via the official National Premier Leagues Facebook page (

National Premier Leagues 2019 Finals Series


National Premier Leagues 2019 Elimination Finals





Kick-Off (Local)


Sunday 22 September 2019

Lions FC (QLD)


Campbelltown City SC (SA)

Lions Stadium, Richlands, QLD

1:00 PM AEST


Saturday 21 September 2019

Maitland FC (NSW)


Devonport Strikers (TAS)

Cooks Square Park, Maitland, NSW

1:00 PM AEST


Saturday 21 September 2019

Wollongong Wolves (NSW)


Canberra Olympic (ACT)

Albert Butler Park, Primbee, NSW

3:00 PM AEST


Sunday 22 September 2019

Heidelberg United FC (VIC)


Perth SC (WA)

JL Murphy Reserve, Port Melbourne, VIC

4:30 PM AEST


National Premier Leagues 2019 Semi Finals





Kick-Off (Local)


28 or 29 September 2019

Winner of Match 1


Winner of Match 2




28 or 29 September 2019

Winner of Match 3


Winner of Match 4




National Premier Leagues 2019 Grand Final





Kick-Off (Local)

Grand Final

5 or 6  October 2019

Winner of Match 5


Winner of Match 6



*Please note this schedule is subject to change