Unchanged Sydney United ready to tackle 2022

Sydney United 58 will embark on a new era under the coaching guidance of Joe Haywood as the club has officially kicked off its 2022 National Premier Leagues NSW Men’s preparations.

Haywood will be able to call upon the majority of United 58’s squad from the 2021 season as the proud former NSL club hopes to once again bring back silverware to Edensor Park.

The Reds have managed to resign several of their stars including Patrick Antelmi, Chris Payne, Yianni Perkatis, Yianni Fragogiannis, Matthew Bilic, Glen Trifiro, Jacob Poscoliero and passionate club captain Adrian Vlastelica to name a few.

Fragogiannis in particular, has been eagerly anticipating the start of the 2022 NPL NSW Men’s campaign as the club have commenced pre-season preparations.

“Pre-season has been good so far,” Fragogiannis stated to Football NSW.

“Everyone has been working hard and I think like most teams, we are all looking forward to getting started in March.

“Joe has settled in pretty seamlessly and has been quick to implement his ideas and philosophy with the playing group. He has done a great job with the teams he has coached previously and has been successful in delivering a playing style that I think suits the players that we have.

“We as a club always set high expectations.

“Any season that goes by without winning a trophy when you play for Sydney United 58 I think is a failure.

“It’s our job to maintain and bring success for the club and the supporters who I think are the best in the league.”

Assisting Haywood will be two well-known former NPL NSW Men’s footballers in Jason Trifiro and former club captain Nick Stavroulakis who is making a return to his old stomping ground.

There’s also a chance the club will make a further signing or two but this could take shape prior to Round 1 of the NPL NSW Men’s competition kicking off where they face the Wollongong Wolves on Sunday 6th of March at the Sydney United Sports Centre.

Sydney United 58: Adrian Vlastelica, Andrea Agamemnonos, Chris Payne, Christian Gonzalez, Daniel Nizic, Devante Clut, Glen Trifiro, Jacob Poscoliero, Jordan Roberts, Matthew Bilic, Patrick Antelmi, Yianni Fragogiannis, Yianni Perkatis, Anthony Tomelic, Jordan Ivancic, Tariq Maia.