Strikers win first PS4 NPL Queensland title

Brisbane Strikers have claimed the PlayStation 4 NPL Queensland 2016 Premiership title in style after rolling Northern Fury 6-1 at Townsville Sports Reserve.

Marksman Rhys Meredith struck four goals in a blistering first-half display from the Strikers, which saw Fraser Hills also find the back of the net to effectively seal the win before half-time.

Substitute Jonti Richter iced the result with his side’s sixth goal approaching the final quarter hour, while Fury could only find late consolation via Jonathon Bagley in the closing stages of the contest.

Strikers’ fifth straight win sees the club take an insurmountable four-point lead atop the PlayStation 4 NPL Queensland competition table ahead of next week’s final round of the regular season.

Meredith’s individual haul also sees the attacker extend his season’s tally to 17 goals atop the competition's Golden Boot race.

The Premiership win is Strikers first in the national second tier and first Premiership title since the Queensland State League 2012 season.

What next for the Premiers?

The former National Soccer League club will now represent Queensland in the end of season PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues Finals Series against the as yet undetermined PlayStation 4 NPL Capital Football Premiers in September.

For Fury, the result extends a horror run of results, with this year’s wooden spooners now winless in 21 games.

CLICK HERE for the full match report.