PS4 NPL WA Round 22 Review

Perth SC have been crowned PlayStation 4 NPL WA 2016 Champions and will represent the state in the National Finals Series after a dramatic end to the season.

Sorrento skipper Daryl Platten scored an own goal to put Perth 1-0 up and keep their title-chase alive at Percy Doyle Reserve.

Meanwhile, ECU Joondalup made sure the result was certain for Perth when Andy Higgins’ 92nd minute goal downed Inglewood United, who sat two points clear at the start of the day.

The win meant ECU Joondalup finished third on 41 points and will join Perth (43) Inglewood (42) and Floreat Athena (38) in The West Australian Top Four Cup.

Perth coach Ramon Falzon, who took over from Melbourne Victory-bound Gareth Naven at the end of May, was quick to praise his entire squad.

“Credit to the boys we had a lot of players missing throughout the season,” he said.

“We never had our strongest 11 out there but whoever played always made sure to perform and I think that’s been the secret – 18 players just focused on doing their job.”

The former Balcatta boss said it was always his ambition to win trophies.

“It’s been a long wait for the club because it was five years ago they last won the top four or five, which was the most important trophy then,” Falzon said.

“But the actual league, it’s been 11 years, so a long wait and from my side, this being my first year, it’s been worth the wait.”

Last year’s winners Bayswater City notched a 4-0 win over mid-table Balcatta but sensationally finished outside the top four for the first time since 2011.

Stirling Lions ended a horror run of five losses in six games to show their experience and sweep aside a young Perth Glory side 3-1 at Ashfield Arena.

Cockburn City put together a complete performance to see off the season in style with a 2-0 win against Floreat Athena at Dalmatinac Park, while Subiaco recorded a 2-1 win against Armadale at Alfred Skeet Reserve.

The West Australian Top Four Cup fixtures will be played on September 3, 7 and 10. Details to be confirmed.

Click on the links below for a match report on each game:

Sorrento 0-1 Perth SC
Inglewood United 0-1 ECU Joondalup
Bayswater City 4-0 Balcatta
Perth Glory 1-3 Stirling Lions
Cockburn City 2-0 Floreat Athena
Armadale 1-2 Subiaco