PS4 NPL Capital Football Review: Round 1

A bumper opening round of PlayStation 4 NPL Capital Football saw a massive 22 goals scored across the four matches.

Saturday 11th April

Belconnen United 4 (Jason Ugrinic 38’, Jack Blackley 41’, Jordan Tsekenis 43’, Aisosa Ihegie 83’)
Gungahlin United 2 (Daniel Barac 24’, Dustin Wells 51’ (pen))

Belconnen United kicked off the PS4 NPL season with a 4-2 win over Gungahlin United at McKellar Park in a match that changed on the first half dismissal of Gungahlin midfielder Liam Walsh. Walsh was shown a straight red card in the 28th minute for an altercation with Blue Devils midfielder Jason Ugrinic which left referee Matt Cropper with no option but to brandish red.

Up until that moment Gungahlin had grown into the match and taken a deserved lead with a splendid goal to open proceedings. Jeremy Habtemariam had enjoyed a sparkling opening half-hour and it was his run and cross that paved the way for Daniel Barac to thump a bullet header past Adam Perakovic in the Belconnen goal.

But then came Walsh’s dismissal and a ruthless five minute spell in which Belconnen netted three times to virtually take the match away from their opponents.

Click here for the full match report.

Belconnen United: 1. Adam PERAKOVIC, 3. Benjamin VAN MEURS, 5. Matt VALERI, 8. Conor NOLAN, 9. Goran MUKEVSKI, 10. Jason UGRINIC, 12. Jordan TSEKENIS, 14. Callum BEATON, 16. Matt GRBESA, 17. Jack BLACKLEY, 18. Danai GAPARE
Substitutes used: 2. Cameron REINHART, 11. Aisosa IHEGIE, 13. Ross COSTANZO

Gungahlin United: 1. Rashid FARID, 3. Dustin WELLS, 4. Jack GREEN, 5. Nathan TIDMARSH, 7. Regan WALSH, 8. Alex MOSCARITOLO, 9. Daniel BARAC, 10. Josh GASPARI, 11. Jeremy HABTEMARIAM, 14. Michael JOHN, 15. Liam WALSH
Substitutes used: 2. Milan POPOVICH, 6. Stephen DOMENICI, 12. Danny KRAJACIC

YELLOW CARDS: 4. Jack GREEN, 11. Jeremy HABTEMARIAM (Gungahlin United), 9. Goran MUKEVSKI, 16. Matt GRBESA (Belconnen United)
RED CARD: 15. Liam WALSH (Gungahlin United)
Match Officials: Matt Cropper (referee), Matthew Rynne, Justin Cho 


Sunday 12th April

Canberra FC 5 (Thomas Milicevic 9’, Robbie Deeley 13’, Domenic Giampaolo 33’, Ian Graham 42’, James Field 85’)
Monaro Panthers 1 (Daniel Linstead 38’)

It may not have been vintage Canberra FC but there was a lot to like as the former champions geared up for a return to glory with what eventually amounted to a routine 5-1 victory over Monaro Panthers at Deakin Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

But the score-line may have glossed over a couple of areas of concern for the FC management who would have watched on nervously as the Panthers threatened a flying start, coming out of the blocks impressively and causing a number of issues in the first twenty minutes to the reds defence.

However, a ruthless display in front of goal made sure that there would be no opening day upset as FC struck four goals from as many chances in the opening half to virtually secure the points before the interval.

Click here for the full match report.

Canberra FC: 22. Jakob COLE, 4. Thomas MILICEVIC, 6. Marcin ZYGMUNT, 7. Robbie DEELEY, 8. Ian GRAHAM, 10. Domenic GIAMPAOLO, 11. Marko VRKIC, 15. Jordan LAMB, 17. Aiden BRUNSKILL, 19. Michael MENSAH, 21. Niko KRESIC
Substitutes used: 13. Daniel BENNETT, 20. James FIELD, 23. Nathan EVANS

Monaro Panthers: 1. Jack PETTIT, 3. Daniel LINSTEAD, 5. Chris RUIZ, 6. Tyson COTTAM, 7. Matt MENSER, 8. Tim STEWART, 9. Martin DENG, 10. Mark SHIELDS, 11. Anthony GIORGI, 12. Jake WILSENER, 16. Theveshran MOODLEY
Substitutes used: 4. David CARDER, 13. Samale MOHAMED, 14. Lewis BATES

YELLOW CARDS: 7. Robbie DEELEY (Canberra FC), 5. Chris RUIZ, 11. Anthony GIORGI, 12. Jake WILSENER (Monaro Panthers)
Match Officials: Luke Withell (referee), Duncan McLaren, Jose Izurieta


Tuggeranong United 1 (Ethan Munster 28’)
Canberra Olympic 6 (Philippe Bernabo-Madrid 7’, 53’ (pen), 75’ (pen), Robbie Cattanach 44’, 86’, 90’)

Canberra Olympic made sure that there’s was the name at the top of the fledgling PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues Capital Football competition with a thoroughly deserved 6-1 victory over Tuggeranong United at Kambah 2.

With a number of new faces to incorporate into the team in 2015, it would have been pleasing for Olympic Head Coach Frank Cachia the manner in which his team began the contest as they took the match to the hosts and went in front early on. Philippe Bernabo-Madrid endured a torrid season at Canberra FC last term but seems to have rediscovered his zest for the game and he gave Olympic the perfect start to the campaign with a seventh minute opener.

Click here for the full match report.

Tuggeranong United: 1. Rowan FORBES-SHEPHERD, 2. Cameron DOHERTY, 3. Jonathan REIS, 4. Sam SHADBOLT, 5. Tomas RUIZ, 6. Sean KIDDEY, 7. Zac MUNSTER, 8. Matt RICE, 10. Ethan MUNSTER, 11. Lorenzo GIANNINI, 12. Jonathan TUREK
Substitutes used: 9. Sean MURPHY, 13. Dominic SZRAKITY, 14. Jamie DUNCAN

Canberra Olympic: 1. Angelo KONSTANTINOU, 2. Tim BOBOLAS, 8. Bernard RENE, 9. Philippe BERNABO-MADRID, 10. Robbie CATTANACH, 11. Michael REEVE, 12. Adam ROGIC, 13. Josh CALABRIA, 14. Callum SMITH, 15. Tom MCLACHLAN, 17. Nick BOBOLAS
Substitutes used: 4. Daniel COLBERTALDO, 5. Jonathan TOOLE, 7. Pat ROSS-MAGEE

YELLOW CARDS: 1. Rowan FORBES-SHEPHERD (Tuggeranong United)
Match Officials: Alex McConachie (referee), Byron Luck, Justin Cho


Tigers FC 2 (Alex Oloriegbe 61’, Lucas Montana 91’ (pen))
Woden-Weston FC 1 (Pepe Varga 29’)

A stoppage time penalty coolly converted by debutant Lucas Montana got League Champions Tigers FC out of jail earning them a 2-1 opening day win over Woden-Weston FC at Nijong Oval.

Montana took the responsibility with virtually the last kick of the match to steal the points after Alex Oloriegbe was adjudged to have been brought down in the area by the Woden-Weston covering defence. It was a cruel blow for the visiting team who had more than matched their hosts and looked well on the way to securing at least a point from one of the competitions more daunting away trips.

Click here for the full match report.

Tigers FC: 1. Luke RODEN, 2. Liam HIGHMORE, 3. Jose DEFILIPPE, 4. Osman FOFANAH, 5. Dejan SANTRAC, 7. Michael KITA, 8. Jeremias IBARRA, 9. Lucas MONTANA, 10. Alex OLORIEGBE, 11, Misko NAUMOSKI, 12. Alan GASTON
Substitutes used: 13. Daniel ROBERTS, 14. Tom OLSON, 15. Thai TRAN

Woden-Weston FC: 1. Rory LARKIN, 3. Zach HARRIGAN, 4. Ohio ASIKHIA, 6. David JENKINS, 8. Adrian CANIZARES, 9. Andrew SLAVICH, 10. Aaron CASHMAN, 11. Pepe VARGA, 13. Mitch STEENBERGEN, 15. John GIBSON, 18. Tim DEHELEAN
Substitutes used: 2. Andrew KILEY, 7. Tim ANDERSON, 16. Adam DOBELL

YELLOW CARDS: 4. Osman FOFANAH, 8. Jeremias IBARRA (Tigers FC), 4. Ohio ASIKHIA (Woden-Weston FC)
RED CARD: 5. Dejan SANTRAC (Tigers FC)
Match Officials: Owen Goldrick (referee), Bruno Kehl, Andrew Twomey