PS4 NPL 2016 Grand Final Preview

Sydney United 58 FC and the Edgeworth Eagles will fight for the title of National NPL Champion when they line up in the Grand Final of the PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Finals Series at Edensor Park on Sunday.

A spot in next year’s Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32 and the title of PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Champions of Australia is the reward for the winners of the all-New South Wales decider as the three week knockout tournament featuring the top of the table clubs from the country’s eight PlayStation 4 NPL competitions reaches its climax.

The PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Grand Final will be streamed LIVE

Sydney United 58 FC will be attempting to win their second PlayStation 4 NPL title after they won the inaugural competition in 2013, while it is a new frontier for the Edgeworth Eagles who are the first club from Northern NSW Football to feature in the decider.

The match promises to be a high calibre contest with Mark Rudan’s Sydney United 58 FC comprising a number of players with Hyundai A-League experience, headlined by Panny Nikas.

The attacking midfielder has undoubtedly been the player of the tournament having scored five of Sydney United 58 FC’s seven goals to date, including a number of stunning strikes.

Edgeworth Eagles also boast some potent goal scoring talent in Hyundai A-League championship winning striker Daniel McBreen. The former Central Coast Mariners marksman compliments a host of quality young Edgeworth Eagles talent such as Keanu Moore, Ayden Brice, Lachlan Pasquale and Aden Gardner, who scored a brace against the Bentleigh Greens.

Sydney United 58 v Edgeworth Eagles

Both clubs have come through tense, tightly contested matches to progress to the Grand Final. Sydney United 58 FC were given a huge fright by Adelaide City before prevailing 5-4 thanks to a Nikas hat-trick, followed by a narrow 2-1 victory over Brisbane Strikers in the Semi Finals.

Edgeworth Eagles caused an extra time upset against 2014 Westfield FFA Cup semi finalists Bentleigh Greens in the Elimination Finals before a solitary McBreen strike saw them get past Perth SC in the west.

While both sides came through hard fought matches, they have taken contrasting paths to the Grand Final in terms of distance travelled. Sydney United 58 FC find themselves at home for the third straight time having hosted both their Elimination and Semi Finals.

On the other hand, Edgeworth Eagles have had to travel to Melbourne and Perth on their way to the Grand Final, and will make the road trip from Newcastle to Sydney tomorrow (Saturday) to finalise preparations for Sunday’s match.

Edgeworth Eagles will be aiming to replicate the feat of MetroStars in 2014 when the South Australian club won three straight matches away from home on their way to winning the title. Interestingly, MetroStars’ run to the 2014 title consisted of beating the entrants from Western Australia, Victoria and then New South Wales, the same States Edgeworth have been faced with this year.

The player to be adjudged best on field in the Grand Final will be awarded the John Kosmina Medal.

The PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Grand Final will be streamed LIVE

Gates open at 1.30pm AEDT with kick-off at 2.30pm.

PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2016 Grand Final Preview

Sydney United 58 FC v Edgeworth Eagles
Sunday 2 October 2016
Sydney United Sports Centre, Edensor Park NSW
2:30pm local (2:30pm AEDT)

Referee: Alex King
Assistant Referee 1: James Tesoriero
Assistant Referee 2: Andrej Giev
Fourth Official: Ben Abraham

Ticketing information: Adults $15, Concession $10, Kids under 16 FREE. Tickets will be available at the venue

Coverage details:

Click here to go to the official match centre

CLICK HERE to watch the LIVE stream

Twitter handles to follow: @FFA @SydUtd58FC @EdgeworthFC @NPLNSW @nplnnsw Join in the conversation using the hashtags #SUNvEDG #PS4NPLFinals

Sydney United 58 FC squad: 2.Kristopher Vlismas, 3.Masato Mochizuki, 4.Eddy Bosnar, 5.Nathan Bertolissio, 6.Chris Payne, 7.Yutaro Shin, 8.Peter Triantis, 10.Robert Mileski, 11.Nikola Taneski, 12.Anthony Vrlic, 13.Daniel Dias, 14.Nicholas Stavroulakis, 15.Jack Stewart, 17.Theo Kofinas, 18.Glen Trifiro, 19.Matthew Bilic, 20.Tomislav Uskok, 21.Thomas Manos (gk), 22.Yianni Fragogiannis, 23.Panagiotis Nikas, 30.Luke Babic (gk)

Edgeworth Eagles squad: 1.Jim Fogarty (gk), 2.Daniel McBreen, 3.Domenico Bizzarri, 4.Patrick Wheeler, 5.Ayden Brice, 6.Lachlan Pasquale, 7.Bren Abbott-Hammel, 8.Daniel Minors, 9.Brody Taylor, 10.Keanu Moore, 11.Dylan Holz, 12.Aden Gardner, 13.Liam Spurway, 14.Chris Fayers, 15.Josh Evans, 16.Samuel Maxwell, 17.Keigo Moriyasu, 18.Will Bower, 19.Aaron McLoughlin, 20.Joshua Low (gk), 21.Kieran Hayes, 22.Bailey Garland, 23.Jackson O’Sullivan