PS4 NPL 2014 Finals Series review

The semi finalists for the PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2014 Final Series have been decided after the four Elimination Finals were played yesterday.

Palm Beach Sharks, Bonnyrigg White Eagles, South Melbourne FC and MetroStars SC all recorded victories to remain in contention to be the crowned PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2014 Champions and secure a spot in next year’s Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32. 

Queensland’s Palm Beach Sharks came from a goal down, scoring twice in the second half to defeat Weston Workers 2-1, while Bonnyrigg White Eagles also conceded first against Cooma Tigers in Canberra before piling on six goals in a 6-1 rout, Arron Peterson with a brace.

In Tasmania, a sublime overhead kick from Jamie Reed in the 6 th minute was the only goal as South Melbourne FC saw off South Hobart.

Meanwhile at Frank Drago Reserve in Perth, MetroStars SC ensured there would be a South Australia v Victoria rivalry next weekend as they defeated a ten-man Bayswater City in a penalty shootout after neither side could find the back of the net at the end of extra time.

The results mean next weekend’s Semi Finals will see Bonnyrigg White Eagles host Palm Beach Sharks on Saturday 27 September 2014 at Bonnyrigg Sports Club, while MetroStars SC will head across the border to face South Melbourne FC on Sunday 28 September. The venue and kick-off time for the match between South Melbourne FC and MetroStars SC is TBC.

For more details on the four Elimination Finals, visit

PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2014 Elimination Finals Review


Weston Workers 1 (C.Thornton 33’)

Palm Beach Sharks 2 (Lucas 56’ (pen), Kyle 73’)

Saturday 20 September 2014

Rockwell Automation Park, Weston NSW

Referee : Glen Peterkin

Weston Workers starting line-up: 20.James WAND (GK), 2.Nathan MORRIS, 5.Jye MACKELLAR (16.Zac SNEDDON 57’), 6.Jason COWBURN, 7.Liam THORNTON, 9.Michael RYAN (4.Brock OAKLEY 86’), 10.Garry McDERMOTT (3.Robbie TURNBULL 75’), 13.Carl THORNTON (c), 14.Jake MILLSTEED, 19.Nick THOMPSON, 31.Robert MACBETH

Substitutes not used: 8.Jacob GOLDING, 11.Jamie SUBAT

Yellow cards: McDermott 34’, Cowburn 57’

Red cards: Nil

Palm Beach Sharks starting line-up: 1.Shane VITAKANGAS (GK), 2.Riley DILLON, 7.Justyn McKAY (c), 9.Christopher LUCAS, 10.Jarrod KYLE, 12.Daniel GRZIC (8.Ben BUTLER 85’), 14.Jonathon CAMILLERI (4.Ethan GRIMLEY 56’), 15.Eoghan MURPHY, 16.Jack BOXELL, 18.Troy RUTHVEN, 23.Karl DODD

Substitutes not used: 3.Jordan MASON, 13.Scott GOLDSMITH-SCOTT, 20.Jack LITTLEJOHN (GK)

Yellow cards: Lucas 18’, Boxell 53’, Kyle 88’

Red cards: Nil


Cooma Tigers 1 (Lando 11’)

Bonnyrigg White Eagles 6 (Fox 23’, Zonjic 54’, Peterson 57’/71’, Diaz 63’, Doyle 79’)

Saturday 20 September 2014

AIS Athletics Field, Bruce ACT

Referee : Luke Withell

Cooma Tigers starting line-up: 1.Jack PETITT (GK), 3.Jordano SAN MARTIN, 4.Iain ELLIOTT, 5.Jerry IBARRA, 6.Aden JOHNSON, 7.Goran JOSIFOVSKI (c), 8.Jordan LANDO, 9.Robbert CATTANACH, 10.Dejan SANTRAC (19.Jared TONINI 71’), 11.Steve DOMINICI (15.Daniel ROBERTS 66’), 16.Phil YARNOLD (21.Sime CELESKI 71’)

Substitutes not used: 12.Domenick COLUCELLO, 14.Stephan TODOROSKI

Yellow cards: Ibarra 29’, Dominici 43’, Josifovski 74’, San Martin 89’, Johnson 89’

Red cards: Nil

Bonnyrigg White Eagles starting line-up: 1.James CHRONOPOULOS (GK), 4.David VRANKOVIC (17.Mitchell OSMOND 68’), 5.Chris TADROSSE (c), 6.Nikola ZONJIC, 8.Alexander CANAK (26.Terek ERCAN 71’), 10.Tynan DIAZ, 12.Dylan FOX, 14.Jordan CRIGHTON (24.Alexander DOYLE 66’), 16.Howard FONDYKE, 19.Arron PETERSON, 21.Bo Hyun CHUN

Substitutes not used: 2.Alexander MANSUETO, 22.Liam GOBBO (GK)

Yellow cards: Nil

Red cards: Nil


South Hobart 0

South Melbourne FC 1 (Reed 6’)

Saturday 20 September 2014

South Hobart Ground, South Hobart TAS

Referee : Brenton Kopra

South Hobart starting line-up: 21.Kane PIERCE (GK), 2.Liam SCOTT, 2.Caleb LUDLOW, 5.Hugh LUDFORD (c), 6.Scott LAMONT, 7.Nicholas MORTON, 9.Brayden MANN, 10.Andy BRENNAN, 13.Hugh UNDY (15.Darcy HALL 89’), 14.Matthew LEWIS (11.Ben HAMLETT 65’), 16.Connor KASS

Substitutes not used: 1.Mark MONCUR (GK), 12.Christopher HUNT, 17.Chris DOWNES

Yellow cards: Brennan 44’, Lewis 49’, Pierce 73’, Kass 85’, Mann 89’, Lamont 90+3’

Red cards: Nil

South Melbourne starting line-up: 21.Chris MAYNARD (GK), 2.Tim MALA, 4.Michael EAGER (c), 7.Nick EPIFANO (27.Leigh MINOPOULOS 83’), 8.Mathew THEODORE, 9.Milos LUJIC, 11.Brad NORTON, 12.Iqi JAWADI, 14.James MUSA, 17.Jamie REED, 77.Stephen HATZIKOSTAS (10.Tyson HOLMES 63’)

Substitutes not used: 1.Jason SALDARIS (GK), 6.Dimi TSIARAS, 25.Shaun TIMMINS

Yellow cards: Musa 4’

Red cards: Nil


Bayswater City 0

MetroStars SC 0

MetroStars SC win 4-3 on penalties

Saturday 20 September 2014

Frank Drago Reserve, Bayswater WA

Referee : Adam Fielding

Bayswater City starting line-up: 1.Devon SPENCE (GK), 2.Declan HARGREAVES, 3.Adam BACHILLER, 6.Todd HOWARTH, 8.Paul McCARTHY, 9.Gustavo GIRON MARULANDA (10.Damien CATALANO 69’), 13.Trent KAY (c), 16.Jamie COYNE, 20.Samuel MITCHINSON, 21.David HEAGNEY (18.James ISAIA 87’), 23.Christopher SALDARIS

Substitutes not used: 14.Harrison BISSETT, 19.Aaron DELANEY, 22.Joel DRISCOLL (GK)

Yellow cards: Giron Marulanda 64’

Red cards: Coyne 12’

MetroStars SC starting line-up: 20.Daniel GODLEY (GK), 2.David MENECHELLA, 5.Lee ROBERTSON, 6.Anthony SOLAGNA (16.Andrew ORPHANOU 110’), 7.Michael D’ALOISIO, 9.Steven GRELLI, 11.Scott TUNBRIDGE (10.Andrew CIARLA 85’), 18.Fabian BARBIERO, 19.Joseph POLISENA (15.Lawrence D’ARRIGO 63’), 21.Adam VAN DOMMELE (c), 23.Perry MITRIS

Substitutes not used: 1.Julian CALI (GK), 3.Stefan CALI

Yellow cards: Polisena 49’

Red cards: Nil

Image courtesy of Grant Sproule