Matchups for 2016 Finals Series take shape

The matchups for the PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Finals Series have been decided after a draw was conducted at FFA headquarters.

The draw gave clubs competing in the eight PS4 NPL competitions around the country a glimpse of which State/Territory they will face in the PS4 NPL 2016 Finals Series should they finish on top of their respective leagues at the conclusion of the home and away season.

The draw saw the eight Member Federations numbered in alphabetical order and was conducted by PlayStation 4 NPL General Manager, Mal Impiombato, and Managing Director Australia/NZ & Vice President Europe Sony Computer Entertainment Australia, Michael Ephraim.

Match 1 of the Elimination Finals will feature Football West hosting Football Federation Tasmania, while Match 2 sees Football Federation Victoria at home to Northern NSW Football.

In Match 3, Capital Football will travel north to face Football Queensland, with the last Elimination Final drawn out pitting Football NSW against Football Federation South Australia.

The winner of Match 1 will take on the winner of Match 2 in the first Semi Final, with the winner of Match 3 taking on the winner of Match 4 in the other Semi Final. Similarly to previous years, the host clubs of the Semi Finals and Grand Final will be determined by a points system (outlined below).

This was the first time in the competition’s four year history the matchups for the PS4 NPL Finals Series were determined by an open draw, unlike previously when the groupings were based on each State/Territory’s geographical location.

The PlayStation 4 NPL Finals Series is a national knockout competition for the first placed clubs of Australia’s eight PS4 NPL competitions.

Consisting of four Elimination Finals, two Semi Finals before culminating in the Grand Final, the winning club of the PS4 NPL Finals Series will be crowned PS4 NPL Champions of Australia while also securing automatic entry into the Round of 32 of next year’s Westfield FFA Cup.

All Elimination Final matches in the PS4 NPL 2016 Finals Series will be played on the weekend of 17-18 September. The match details and competing clubs will be decided in due course. All of the relevant information and details around the PS4 NPL 2016 Finals Series can be found on


ELIMINATION FINALS (17-18 September 2016)





Match 1

Football West


Football Federation Tasmania

Match 2

Football Federation Victoria


Northern NSW Football

Match 3

Football Queensland


Capital Football

Match 4

Football NSW


Football Federation South Australia

SEMI FINALS (24-25 September 2016)





Match 5

Host Member Federation determined by points system

Winner of Match 1


Winner of Match 2

Match 6

Host Member Federation determined by points system

Winner of Match 3


Winner of Match 4

GRAND FINAL (1-3 October 2016)





Match 7

Host Member Federation determined by points system

Winner of Match 5


Winner of Match 6

The host of the Grand Final will be determined by the club with the highest accumulation of points across the Elimination Finals and Semi Finals.

The draw process document  provides an overview of how the draw was conducted.