Heritage Round ready for take off

The glittering history of PlayStation 4 NPL NSW Men’s 1 clubs will be celebrated with the inaugural Heritage Round launching next weekend.

Round 14 will see all six matches celebrate the wealth of history behind NSW football, and the contribution which those clubs have made to the football landscape since the start of the last century.

As part of Heritage Round, Football NSW will be promoting the clubs and telling the stories which have made them household names.

Club legends and epic matches will be celebrated during the week leading into Heritage Round, as well as on the match days themselves.

Some clubs will be playing in special "retro" jerseys as the whole of the PS4 NPL NSW Men's 1 competition gets behind Heritage Round, which is sure to become a much loved date on the football calendar.

Football NSW CEO Eddie Moore paid tribute to the clubs' hard work in promoting the game and nurturing talent.

“It’s great that we honour these clubs who have given the game so much here in Australia and NSW, with the inaugural Heritage Round.

“Each club has played a pivotal role in the development of our game and we have seen so many past and present Socceroos stars come through these ranks.

“I wish all clubs the best of luck in what will be a monumental weekend of football for the PS4 NPL NSW Men’s 1 competition.”

Football NSW Media Manager Mark Stavroulakis echoed the Football NSW CEO’s sentiments.

“Every club has a story to tell – whether it be an elderly fan who used to be a player and hasn’t missed a game, a volunteer who has manned the canteen for 20 years, or a groundsman who has been the first to arrive and the last to leave since the day the club began.

“It’s a chance to recognise past players and past victories.”

The 12 clubs will each look back at their history including:

·         APIA Leichhardt Tigers, founded in and 1954 winners of the 1987 National Soccer League, under the guidance of Australian football legend Rale Rasic.

·         Blacktown City, founded in 1953 and winners of the NSW Premier League Championship in 2003, 2006, and 2007.

·         Blacktown Spartans, founded in 2002, and winners of State League 2 in 2005, and the NSW Super League in 2011. 

·         Bonnyrigg White Eagles, founded in 1968, and winners of the "treble": the NSW Premier League premiership, championship, and Waratah Cup in 1992, and NSW Premier League champions in 2001 and 2013.

·         Marconi Stallions, founded in 1958, and National Soccer League Champions in 1979, 1988,1989, and 1993, and NSW Premier League champions in 1972, 1973, and 2012.

·         Manly United, founded in 2004, and winners of the Waratah Cup in 2011, and runners up in 2007, 2009, and 2014.

·         Parramatta FC, founded in 1956 and winners of the NSW Premier League championship in 1985, 1988, 1989, 1996, 1997, and 2002.

·         Rockdale City Suns, founded in 1969, and NSW Super League champions in 2002 and 2006, and NSW Premier League champions in 1984.

·         Sydney Olympic, founded in 1957, and National Soccer League champions in 1990 and 2002, and NSW Premier League champions in 1980 and 2011.

·         Sydney United 58, founded in 1958, and National Soccer League premiers in 1986, 1997, and 1999, and champions of the inaugural National Premier Leagues in 2013. 

·         South Coast Wolves, founded in 1980, and National Soccer League champions in 2000 and 2001, and NSW Premier League champions in 1987 and 2008.

·         Sutherland Sharks, founded in 1930, and NSW Premier League champions in 1978, 1986, and 2009. 


Heritage Round

Saturday 13th June

Bonnyrigg White Eagles FC vs Sydney Olympic FC – Bonnyrigg Sports Club 7:30pm

Parramatta FC vs Blacktown City FC – Melita Stadium 7:30pm

APIA Leichhardt Tigers FC vs Marconi Stallions FC – Lambert Park 7:30pm

Sunday 14th June

Rockdale City Suns vs Manly United FC – Ilinden Sports Centre 3pm

Sydney United 58 FC vs Blacktown Spartans FC – Sydney United Sports Centre – 3pm

South Coast Wolves FC vs Sutherland Sharks FC – WIN Stadium – 3pm