Goals galore on opening weekend

The opening weekend of the PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Finals Series has produced a staggering 25 goals in four matches as semi finalists were decided for the knockout competition.

Perth SC, Brisbane Strikers, Sydney United 58 FC and Edgeworth Eagles from Northern NSW all won through to the last four, with Perth SC and Sydney United 58 FC set to host their respective Semi Finals courtesy of the points system that is used to determine the host clubs.

The pick of the four Elimination Finals was arguably this afternoon’s nine goal thriller between Sydney United 58 FC and Adelaide City, the two former NSL powerhouse clubs turning on a classic as Panny Nikas’ hat-trick helped the New South Wales club prevail 5-4 at the Sydney United Sports Centre.

A gallant Adelaide City, who were reduced to 10 players when Bradley Corbo was red carded, fought their way back from 2-0 down and equalised in the 89th minute only for Sydney United 58 FC to be awarded a contentious penalty in stoppage time which Chris Payne converted.

Sydney United 58 FC’s semi final opponents will be another former NSL outfit after Brisbane Strikers proved too strong for Canberra Olympic in a 3-2 result at Perry Park.

The home side was dominant for the majority of the match but were made to work hard for their victory due to a host of missed chances and a first half brace from Canberra Olympic youngster Jordan Tsekenis.

In the other Semi Final, Edgeworth Eagles will head west to take on Perth SC after the Northern NSW side stunned Victorian Premiers Bentleigh Greens 3-1 in extra time away from home.

Two goals in extra time from substitute Aden Gardner ensured Edgeworth would march on in the competition and condemn Bentleigh to an early exit.

The result made it consecutive years of a Victorian club being knocked out at home in the Elimination Final stage, although Bentleigh Greens could have been excused for having one eye on their Westfield FFA Cup Quarter Final against Melbourne Victory on 27 September.

Perth SC won hosting rights for their Semi Final thanks to a 6-1 rout of Devonport Strikers in the west. Perth SC led 4-0 before Devonport captain Brayden Mann pegged a goal back but it was one way traffic as the Tasmanian club’s long trip to Perth and heavy schedule, which included a run to the Round of 16 in the Westfield FFA Cup, appeared to catch up with them.

Match details regarding date, venue and kick-off times for the Semi Finals will be announced on Monday 19 September 2016 on www.nationalpremierleagues.com.au.

Tickets for both Semi Finals will be available at the venues on match day, while every match will be LIVE streamed via PlayStation 4 consoles and at www.nationalpremierleagues.com.au.

PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2016 Elimination Finals Review

Perth SC 6 
(Diaz 11', Milenkovic 21’/30’, Catarcione 55’, Keltie 85’, Theodosiades 90+2’)
Devonport Strikers 1 (Mann 70’)
Saturday 17 September 2016
E&D Litis Stadium, Leederville
 David Bruce

Perth SC starting line-up: 1.Francis Soale (gk), 5.Nathan Diaz, 6.Clark Keltie (c), 7.Aleksandar Jovic (3.Andreas Theodosiades 72’), 9.Gustavo Catarcione (17.Francesco Furfaro 80’), 10.Nicholas Ambrogio (16.Thomas Jebb 85’), 11.Matthew Milenkovic, 12.Jordan De Leo, 13.Rocco Pizzata, 15.Harley Orr, 18.Alex Silla

Substitutes not used: 14.Dino Topcagic, 23.Daniel Passarelli (gk)
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Devonport Strikers starting line-up: 1.Thomas Pearce (gk), 3.Dominic Smith, 4.Beau Blizzard (6.Jesse Dance 58’), 5.Joseph Zupo, 7.Brody Denehey (22.Harrison Wicks 85’), 8.Kieran Mulraney, 9.Brayden Mann (c), 10.Joel Stone, 11.Adam Gorrie, 16.Todd Hingston (13.Lindsay Millington 76’), 17.Daniel Syson

Substitutes not used: 19.Jack Dance, 21.Josh Smith (gk)
Yellow cards: Mann 72’
Red cards: Nil

Bentleigh Greens 1 
(Maclean 89’)
Edgeworth Eagles 3 (Moore 55’, Gardner 99’/109’)
Saturday 17 September 2016
Kingston Heath Soccer Complex, Cheltenham
 Chris Hope

Bentleigh Greens starting line-up: 1.Ryan Scott (gk), 5.Jack Webster, 6.Liam McCormick (17.John Maclean 75’), 10.Tyson Holmes, 12.Josh Brindell-South, 15.Ross Archibald, 16.Troy Ruthven (11.Dion Kirk 46’), 18.Matthew Thurtell, 19.Kieran Dover, 22.Ryan Paczkowski, 24.Luke Pilkington (14.Kamal Ibrahim 69’)

Substitutes not used: 2.Nick Apostolopulos, 21.Kile Kennedy (gk)
Yellow cards: Holmes 118’
Red cards: Nil

Edgeworth Eagles starting line-up: 1.Jim Fogarty (gk), 2.Daniel McBreen, 3.Domenico Bizzarri, 4.Patrick Wheeler, 5.Ayden Brice, 6.Lachlan Pasquale, 7.Bren Abbott-Hammel (c), 9.Brody Taylor (12.Aden Gardner 55’), 10.Keanu Moore (17.Keigo Moriyasu 78’), 11.Dylan Holz, 19.Aaron McLoughlin (16.Samuel Maxwell 89’)

Substitutes not used: 14.Chris Fayers, 20.Joshua Low (gk)
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Strikers 3 
(Marsh 6’, Bobolas 67’ (og), Hills 81’)
Canberra Olympic 2 (Tsekenis 13’/26’)
Saturday 17 September 2016
Perry Park, Bowen Hills
 Alex King

Brisbane Strikers starting line-up: 20.Michael Weier (gk), 2.Chris Maher, 4.Jake Marshall, 5.Greig Henslee, 6.Fraser Hills, 8.Michael Angus (c), 13.Sam Knight, 14.Jake McLean (12.Shaun Carlos 71’), 17.Hiroki Omori, 18.Trent Clulow, 19.Luke Marsh

Substitutes not used: 1.Sebastian Usai (gk), 7.Felli Sheriff, 15.Ryan Palmer, 23.Samuel Ball
Yellow cards: Omori 63’
Red cards: Nil

Canberra Olympic starting line-up: 20.Jack Pettit (gk), 4.Daniel Colbertaldo (15.Tom McLachlan 66’), 5.Phil Yarnold, 7.Patrick Ross-Magee (6.Jeremy Habtemarium 52’), 8.Bernard Rene, 10.Robbie Cattanach, 11.Michael Reeve, 12.Adam Rogic, 17.Nicholas Bobolas, 18.Jordan Tsekenis (9.Philippe Bernabo-Madrid 76’), 23.Nathen Megic

Substitutes not used: 2.Tim Bobolas
Yellow cards: Yarnold 30’, Rogic 44’, Bobolas 84’
Red cards: Nil

Sydney United 58 FC 5 
(Shin 22’, Nikas 34’ (pen)/49’/77’, Payne 90+2’)
Adelaide City 4 (Allwright 43’/60’, Halliday 64’, Costa 89’)
Sunday 18 September 2016
Sydney United Sports Centre, Edensor Park
 Ben Abraham

Sydney United 58 FC starting line-up: 21.Thomas Manos (gk), 3.Masato Mochizuki, 6.Chris Payne, 7.Yutaro Shin, 8.Peter Triantis (19.Matthew Bilic 69’), 14.Nicholas Stavroulakis (c), 18.Glen Trifiro, 20.Tomislav Uskok (2.Kristopher Vlismas 52’), 22.Yianni Fragogiannis, 23.Panagiotis Nikas, 24.Jacob Tratt

Substitutes not used: 11.Nikola Taneski, 12.Anthony Vrlic, 30.Luke Babic (gk)