Goal scorers gunning for NPL Finals glory

We take a look at Sydney United 58 FC and Canberra FC's forwards that will look to get their team on the front foot in today's opening NPL Finals clash.

We take a look at Sydney United 58 FC and Canberra FC's leading attackers that will look to get their team on the front foot in today's opening NPL Finals clash.

Sydney United 58 FC

Luka Glavas made history in the final round of the NSW NPL season as he broke Graham Arnold-s all time goal scoring record for United, surpassing the old mark of 84 goals. Glavas was United-s go-to-guy in 2013 as he put away 15 goals in 17 matches and finished the competition-s third top goal-scorer despite being out with injury for a significant part of the season. The former Perth Glory player scored from the spot in his side-s semi-final against Rockdale City Suns but it was in vain as his side went down on penalties. Glavas will no doubt be looking to get his name on the scoresheet on Sunday.

Mirjan Pavlovic made a name for himself in the Hyundai A-League with the Wellington Phoenix before returning to United in 2012. The former Olyroos representative contributed 7 of his side-s 46 goals in 17 matches throughout the season. After United finished 2-2 with Rockdale at the end of extra-time Pavlovic was the first to step up for his side as he calmly converted his side-s opening penalty attempt and, despite his side going down 4-3 in the shoot-out, will no doubt be ready to step up to the mark if necessary against Canberra FC.

Canberra FC

Philippe Bernabo scored a joint-team high 20 goals in the 2013 season as Canberra FC racked up a staggering 86 goals in the competition at an average of over four goals a match. Bernabo was deadly in front of goal all season and just when it looked like Alex Oloeigbe was going to lay claim to being the club-s top goal scorer for 2013, Bernabo put in four goals in his side-s 9-0 rout of the Monaro Panthers in the final round of the season. Bernabo and his teammates will have a tougher task to beat the United defense this weekend who only let in just over a goal a match throughout 2013.

Alex Oloeigbe backed up his 2012 season as the league-s joint top scorer with 21 goals with another stellar year as he put 20 goals away to match Bernabo-s mark. Between the pair of them they managed to score the more goals than what four of the teams in the competition scored as a whole team. Oloeigbe announced his arrival to Canberra FC in 2013 when he scored a hat-trick in his club debut back in March. He went on to score a double in Canberra FC-s 4-0 defeat of Belconnen United in the first week of the finals but could not help his side-s cause in the decider as they went down in extra-time to Canberra Olympic 2-0 in the Capital Football NPL decider.

Sydney United 58 FC host Canberra FC at Edensor Park kick-off 3pm Sunday 29 September 2013.