Entrants confirmed for PS4 NPL 2016 Finals Series

The eight clubs who will vie for the title of PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Champions of Australia have been determined.

Perth SC became the eighth and final club to qualify for the fourth edition of the PlayStation 4 NPL finals Series after they scraped home to finish top of PlayStation 4 NPL WA.

Five of the eight clubs also competed in the Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32, with Bentleigh Greens and Canberra Olympic still alive in the competition.

So here is a quick rundown on each of the entrants for the PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Finals Series…

Capital Football – Canberra Olympic

The 18 round Capital Football season saw Canberra Olympic prevail by three points as they held off Tigers FC. After a hiccup against Canberra FC in Round 11, the ACT entrants went on to win their last seven games. The team from the national capital has also enjoyed a magical run in the Westfield FFA Cup which has them set to host Victoria’s Green Gully in a Quarter Final on 27 September.

Football NSW – Sydney United 58 FC

Coached by Sydney FC championship winning defender Mark Rudan, the former NSL club were a class above throughout the season as they wrapped up the PlayStation 4 NPL NSW Premiership with three rounds remaining as they finished nine points ahead of second placed Blacktown City. PS4 NPL NSW Final Round Review

Football Federation South Australia – Adelaide City

Adelaide City, coached by former Socceroos and club legend Damian Mori, proved to be the benchmark in South Australia as they recorded 17 wins from 22 matches, scoring 62 goals in the process. Spent from Round 6 until Round 22 at the top of the table and were the first team to qualify for the PS4 NPL SA Grand Final. PS4 NPL SA Final Round Review

Football Federation Tasmania – Devonport Strikers

Clearly the best team in Tasmania in 2016. Finished eight points clear of their nearest rival having only conceded 10 goals from their 21 matches. The only blemish for the season came at home when they lost to Hobart Jeep Zebras back in April. Led by striker Brayden Mann who found the back of the net 19 times, Devonport also became the first Tasmania team to reach the Round of 16 of the Westfield FFA Cup. PS4 NPL Tasmania Final Round Review

Football Federation Victoria – Bentleigh Greens

Bentleigh Greens have become a powerhouse of Victorian football and clinched the 2016 Premiership with a six point buffer back to Heidelberg United and South Melbourne after the 26 rounds of PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria. The Greens won 18 matches and lost just three times as they went on to have the best attacking and defensive record. It is a big month of football for the Greens with the PS4 NPL Victoria Finals Series, PS4 National Finals Series and Westfield FFA Cup Quarter Finals all on the horizon. PS4 NPL Victoria Final Round Review

Football Queensland – Brisbane Strikers

The proud former NSL club finished on 47 points from 22 matches, four points ahead of Gold Coast City. Conceded just 19 goals for the season, ten less than the next best team in PlayStation 4 NPL Queensland. They also narrowly lost to Hyundai A-League outfit Melbourne City FC in the Round of 16 in this year’s Westfield FFA Cup. PS4 NPL Queensland Final Round Review

Football West – Perth SC

Prevailed in a thrilling finale to the PlayStation 4 NPL WA premiership race. Heading into the final round two points behind league leaders Inglewood United, Perth SC defeated Sorrento 1-0 to edge out Inglewood by one point, who went down to ECU Joondalup in the final round courtesy of a goal in the 92nd minute. The tightness of the league was emphasised by just five points separating first to sixth in the final league standings. PS4 NPL WA Final Round Review

Northern NSW Football – Edgeworth Eagles

15 wins from 18 matches saw Edgeworth finish four points clear of Hamilton Olympic to confirm them as the most successful club in PS4 NPL Northern NSW in 2016. With Central Coast Mariners championship winning striker Daniel McBreen leading the attack, the Eagles will be a force to be reckoned with in this year’s national finals series. PS4 NPL Northern NSW Final Round Review

The fourth edition of the PlayStation 4 NPL Finals Series begins with the four Elimination Finals to be played on the weekend of 17/18 September.

Previous winners of the knockout competition include Sydney United 58 FC (NSW) in the inaugural year, MetroStars (SA) in 2014 and Blacktown City (NSW) in 2015.

Elimination Finals

Perth SC (Football West) v Devonport Strikers (Football Federation Tasmania)
Venue - TBC

Bentleigh Greens (Football Federation Victoria) v Edgeworth Eagles (Northern NSW Football)
Kingston Heath, Cheltenham

Brisbane Strikers (Football Queensland) v Canberra Olympic (Capital Football)
Perry Park, Bowen Hills

Sydney United 58 FC (Football NSW) v Adelaide City (Football Federation South Australia)
Sydney United Sports Centre, Edensor Park

Dates and kick-off times for the four Elimination Finals will be announced next week.