Edgeworth and Sydney United 58 set up all NSW decider

The PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Champions of Australia will come from New South Wales after Edgeworth Eagles and Sydney United 58 FC won through to the Grand Final.

Edgeworth Eagles became the first club from Northern NSW Football to reach the decider courtesy of a gritty 1-0 victory over Perth SC at Dorrien Gardens on Saturday night.

The winning goal came from the boot of Hyundai A-League Championship winning striker Daniel McBreen in the 51st minute as Edgeworth Eagles won their second successive match away from home after they defeated Victorian club Bentleigh Greens in extra time in the Elimination Finals.

A Panny Nikas inspired Sydney United 58 FC then joined the Eagles in the decider earlier this afternoon as they came from a goal down to beat Brisbane Strikers 2-1.

Trent Clulow had given the visiting Strikers the advantage at the break but a Nikas double in the second half sent the hosts through as they attempt to try and win their second PlayStation 4 NPL Australia title after claiming the inaugural competition in 2013.

Nikas’ two goals mean he has five goals in two matches after his hat-trick against Adelaide City last weekend.

Sydney United 58 FC will host the PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Grand Final after narrowly finishing ahead of Edgeworth Eagles on the points system used to decide the host club.

The points tally of the two Grand Finalists that determined who would host the decider finished as follows:


Points Total

Sydney United 58 FC


Edgeworth Eagles


The date and kick-off time for the PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Grand Final will be announced later today.

The PlayStation 4 NPL 2016 Grand Final will be LIVE streamed via PlayStation 4 consoles and on www.nationalpremierleagues.com.au. Tickets for the match will be available at the venue on match day.

PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2016 Semi Finals Results

Perth SC 0
Edgeworth Eagles 1
(McBreen 51’)
Saturday 24 September 2016
Dorrien Gardens, West Perth
Adam Fielding

Perth SC starting line-up: 1.Francis Soale (gk), 4.Adrian Madaschi, 5.Nathan Diaz, 6.Clark Keltie (c), 7.Aleksandar Jovic (17.Francesco Furfaro 81’), 9.Gustavo Catarcione, 10.Nicholas Ambrogio (3.Andreas Theodosiades 67’), 11.Matthew Milenkovic, 12.Jordan De Leo, 13.Rocco Pizzata, 15.Harley Orr

Substitutes not used: 16.Thomas Jebb, 18.Alex Silla, 23.Daniel Passarelli (gk)
Yellow cards: Pizzata 40’, De Leo 88’, Catarcione 90+3’
Red cards: Nil

Edgeworth Eagles starting line-up: 1.Jim Fogarty (gk), 2.Daniel McBreen, 3.Domenico Bizzarri, 4.Patrick Wheeler, 5.Ayden Brice (19.Aaron McLoughlin 80’), 6.Lachlan Pasquale, 7.Bren Abbott-Hammel, 9.Brody Taylor (12.Aden Gardner 63’), 10.Keanu Moore (17.Keigo Moriyasu 90+1’), 11.Dylan Holz, 15.Josh Evans (c)

Substitutes not used: 8.Daniel Minors, 20.Joshua Low (gk)
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Sydney United 58 FC 2
(Nikas 51’/71’)
Brisbane Strikers 1 (Clulow)
Sunday 25 September 2016
Sydney United Sports Centre, Edensor Park NSW
Adam Suez

Sydney United 58 FC starting line-up: 21.Thomas Manos (gk), 2.Kristopher Vlismas, 6.Chris Payne, 7.Yutaro Shin, 8.Peter Triantis, 14.Nicholas Stavroulakis (c), 17.Theo Kofinas (20.Tomislav Uskok), 18.Glen Trifiro, 19.Matthew Bilic, 22.Yianni Fragogiannis (3.Masato Mochizuki), 23.Panagiotis Nikas

Substitutes not used: 10.Robert Mileski, 11.Nikola Taneski, 30.Luke Babic (gk)
Yellow cards: Stavroulakis 69’, Mileski 90+3’
Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Strikers starting line-up: 20.Michael Weier (gk), 4.Jake Marshall, 5.Greig Henslee, 6.Fraser Hills (15.Ryan Palmer), 8.Michael Angus (c), 12.Shaun Carlos, 13.Sam Knight, 14.Jake McLean (7.Felli Sheriff), 17.Hiroki Omori, 18.Trent Clulow, 19.Luke Marsh

Substitutes not used: 1.Sebastian Usai (gk), 21.Sam Johnson, 23.Samuel Ball
Yellow cards: Hills 58’, Omori 75’
Red cards: Nil