Blacktown City crowned PS4 NPL champions

Football New South Wales club Blacktown City FC are the toast of Australian football tonight after taking out the PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2015 Grand Final courtesy of a 3-1 win over Bayswater City SC at Dorrien Gardens in Perth.

The victory sees Blacktown City FC become the third club, and second NSW outfit, to be crowned PlayStation 4 NPL Champions of Australia following Sydney United 58 FC in the inaugural year of the PlayStation 4 NPL Finals Series, and South Australian club MetroStars’ triumph last year.

The result also gives Blacktown City FC an automatic spot in next year’s Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32 meaning they get to bypass the Preliminary Rounds.

Joey Gibbs gave Blacktown City FC a dream start after just 13 minutes before Mitch Mallia doubled the advantage in the 26th  minute, the duo who both have Hyundai A-League experience stunning a boisterous home crowd who had watched Bayswater City put six goals past Olympia FC a week ago to reach the Grand Final.

A superb header by Bayswater City striker Gustavo Marulanda from a corner had the hosts right back into the contest early in the second half but Gibbs snuffed out any hope of a revival with his second five minutes later.

Bayswater City tried valiantly to respond again but Blacktown City held firm as the team from Sydney’s west ran out victors on the night.

Gibbs was awarded the John Kosmina Medal as best afield for his brace as Blacktown City FC head home celebrating their major achievement.


PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2015 Grand Final Review


Bayswater City SC 1  (Marulanda 51’)

Blacktown City FC 3  (Gibbs 13’,55’, Mallia 26’)

Saturday 3 October 2015

Dorrien Gardens, West Perth WA

Referee: Matthew Cropper

Bayswater City SC starting line-up: 1.Devon SPENCE (gk), 2.Declan HARGREAVES (12.Adam TONG 61’), 6.Todd HOWARTH, 9.Gustavo GIRON-MARULANDA, 13.Trent KAY (c), 15.Brian FARRELL, 16.Jamie COYNE, 17.Bor Bor SAM, 20.Sam MITCHINSON, 21.David HEAGNEY (14.Danny DIXON 58’), 23.Chris SALDARIS

Substitutes not used: 10.Damien CATALANO, 19.Alex WILD, 25.Jason SALDARIS (gk)

Yellow cards: Howarth 64’, Saldaris 77’

Red cards: Nil

Blacktown City FC starting line-up: 1.Nenad VEKIC (gk), 3.Giorgio SPERANZA, 4.Yianni FRAGOGIANNIS, 6.Matthew LEWIS, 7.Travis MAJOR, 8.Sasa MACURA, 9.Joseph GIBBS, 12.Daniel ARAUJO (21.Yianni PERKATIS 57’), 14.Mitchell MALLIA, 16.Patrick ANTELMI (11.Danny SEUNG-JOO CHOI 75’), 19.Zachary CAIRNCROSS (c)

Substitutes not used: 10.Christos TOMARAS, 13.Tristan PRENDERGAST (gk), 18.Jonathan GROZDANOVSKI

Yellow cards: Major 50’, Antelmi 63’, Cairncross 64’, Perkatis 78’

Red cards: Nil