Bayswater takes out 2017 QBE Night Series

Bayswater City will head into the PlayStation 4 NPL WA season with high hopes after taking out the QBE Night Series with a 3-1 win over Mandurah City.

The defending Night Series champions hit the front at Percy Doyle Reserve just before the half hour with David Heagney scoring but Mandurah’s Ryan Francis levelled.

Bayswater hit back before half-time with Oscar Thompson scoring into his own net and both sides had chances in an end-to-end second half. BorBor Sam scored the decisive third goal in stoppage time.

Bayswater coach Chris Coyne said Mandurah had provided great competition.

“We made hard work of it tonight and I think a lot of the credit has to go to Mandurah,” he said.

“I thought we kept our shape well tonight, apart from the goal (we conceded) but I’m very pleased for the boys. It’s been a long pre-season and now we can look forward to the new season.”

Mandurah coach Doug Hesketh said he was proud of his players, who really took the game to their opponents. 

“If we can mix it with the likes of Bayswater, we’ll be alright this season,” he said.

“We are in a good place now, and really deserve the opportunity to play in the NPL. I think people realise we are worth a go.”

Bayswater winger Jason Mirco won the Robbie Dunn Medal as the QBE Night Series Final man of the match.

In the third place play-off, Armadale defeated Sorrento 2-1 under the direction of new coach John O’Reilly.

The Reds started with a bang and were two up after only seven minutes, with goals from James Atkins and Kyle King. Armadale hung on for victory, despite Brodie Martin’s penalty for Sorrento early in the second half.

O’Reilly said his new-look side had worked hard and he thought they deserved the win.

“We were good early and we set the standard,” he said. “I thought our approach was excellent, they came out sluggish and we punished them.”

The PS4 NPLWA season starts on Friday. Click here for fixtures.

QBE Night Series Final
Saturday, February 11 – 7:30pm
Percy Doyle Reserve

Bayswater City 3 (Heagney 27min, own goal – Thompson 40, Sam 90+1)
Mandurah 1
 (Francis 37 Mins)


QBE Night Series Third & Fourth Play-off
Saturday, February 11 – 5:30pm
Percy Doyle Reserve

Armadale 2 (Atkins 5 Mins, King 7)
Sorrento 1 (Martin 50 Mins - pen)