Bayswater complete undefeated season

Five star Bayswater wrapped up an unbeaten PlayStation 4 NPL WA season with a dominant 5-1 win over Stirling Lions at Frank Drago Reserve in the final round.

An unprecedented achievement from the hosts was all but wrapped up by halftime as Gustavo Giron Marulanda struck twice inside the first 12 minutes. 

David Heagney came off the bench to strike a late brace after goals from Brian Farrell and a consolation in between from Brodie Martin.

But it was Marulanda’s brace that set the ball rolling and the goals ensured he finished ahead of Cockburn’s Rory Patterson as the Golden Boot winner.

“I told to the boys today ‘keep in mind that I need to score some goals today because Rory (Patterson) is a great finisher,” said the Colombian striker.

“You’re always going to get chances with the players we have in our team, so you have to be sharp and prepared to score.

“I woke up this morning and I was really hungry for goals, and having won the title, I wanted the Golden Boot too.

“Being top-scorer was one of my targets and to achieve it is a great feeling, but to contribute to the team is the best feeling.”

ECU Joondalup had a winning end to their campaign after a 4-2 victory over Inglewood United.

Perth SC nicked second spot from Floreat Athena thanks to a 2-1 win over Subiaco, while Athena were defeated 1-0 by a resilient Sorrento.

Balcatta ended a run of three successive defeats to finish the season in style with a 4-1 rout at Armadale.

And, Perth Glory Youth avoided the wooden spoon with a 3-0 win against fifth-placed Cockburn City at Dalmatinac Park.