2014 IGA NPL NSW Mens 1 Draw announced

Football NSW has officially released the 2014 IGA National Premier Leagues NSW Mens 1 competition draw for the new season kicking off on Saturday March 15.

Football NSW has officially released the 2014 IGA National Premier Leagues NSW Mens 1 competition draw for the new season kicking off on Saturday March 15 across twenty-two rounds with twelve clubs ready to battle it out for total supremacy.

NSW is heavily renowned for having the most competitive competition across all National Premier Leagues in Australia as a number of mouthwatering first round fixtures have been announced in what will be a memorable 2014 season.

Inaugural 2013 National Premier Leagues Champions and IGA NPL NSW Mens 1 Premiers Sydney United 58 FC take on fierce rivals Sydney Olympic at the Sydney United Sports Centre in what will be a cracking affair.

Reds coach Mark Rudan, who recently through his hat in the ring as possibly becoming the next Sydney FC coach, will have his work cut out as the club hopes to once again rekindle the success it received in 2013 with a tough first round match against the Blues.

Grant Lee has recruited rather well with a number of fresh new faces such as former Adelaide United attacker Evan Kotsopoulos as well as former Blacktown City FC sharpshooter Harris Gaitatzis to name a few set for what will be a huge year for the former NSL giants.

Round 1 has also pitted the replay of the classic 2013 IGA National Premier Leagues NSW Mens 1 Grand Final between the Bonnyrigg White Eagles and Rockdale City Suns which will kick off the year in style on Saturday March 15.

Brian ‘Bomber- Brown-s men are hoping that they can replicate their form that won them the Championship in 2013 with a 1-0 victory courtesy of a Robbie Younis goal against Branko Culina-s resilient Rockdale City Suns at the Bonnyrigg Sports Ground.

Newly promoted side St George FC will be taking on 2013 Waratah Cup Champions APIA Leichhardt Tigers at the highly fancied WIN Jubilee Oval in what promises to be a baptism of fire for Saints coach Manny Spanoudakis and his men.

Apart from a number of other fantastic round 1 matches scheduled, clubs such as the South Coast Wolves, APIA Leichhardt Tigers and Blacktown City FC will all showcase their new grounds for the 2014 season.

The Wolves recently announced that WIN Stadium will play host to their 2014 matches with a round debut clash at the quality facility against Blacktown City FC, the Tigers, whose spiritual home ground Lambert Park has gone through a major redevelopment with a new artificial surface laid out will test it in their round 2 clash against staunch rivals Marconi Stallions on Saturday 22nd March.

Blacktown City have also turned to the artificial surface as their ground Lily-s Football Centre will also be unveiled in their round 2 clash against new boys on the block St George FC.

Ben De Haan-s Blacktown Spartans squad will be one to watch for the new season as they-ve recruited rather well with the likes of Elsid Barkhousir, Brett Studman and Ray Miller to name a few will certainly be up for the task as they hope to challenge for the title in 2014 at their fortress Blacktown Football Park, while Robbie Stanton-s Sutherland Sharks hope to do one better after finishing runners-up in the Waratah Cup and bowing out in the early stages of the IGA National Premier Leagues NSW Mens 1 finals series. The pair meet in the first round on Saturday March 15.

Marconi will also unveil their new coach in former star player and club legend Darren Iocca as they tackle Craig Midgley-s Manly United squad in the final round 1 clash.

The Finals Series for 2014 will commence on the 23rd of August while the Grand Final has been scheduled for Saturday 6th of September.

With a number quality players currently plying their trade in the National Premier Leagues NSW Mens 1 competition with a sprinkling of fresh young talent coming through the system combined with the release of the FFA Cup for 2014, the new year promises to be the most competitive yet.

Along with the players, referees developing towards the top stage will also be on show in the NPL NSW Mens 1 competition with the likes of leading Hyundai A-League referee and current Football NSW Referee-s Manager Kris Griffiths-Jones leading the charge while the continual improvement of coaches will again be on the radar as the likes of Rudan, Culina, Stanton, De Haan, Brown, Midgley and co continue their climb to coaching in the top tier competition of Australian football.